sewing my first dress

Over the last couple weeks, I’ve been sewing my first dress. I talked about the bias tape experience here. Well I’ve finally completed it and for the most part I am pretty pleased. The pattern is from dottie angel and it’s a Simplicity pattern. I used a grey/black linen. I couldn’t find any vintage patterned fabric that I liked, but will keep hunting. Here are some pictures of the process and the final dress.

Dress Pattern

The directions were totally foreign to me. I had to look a lot of things up on the computer.

Dress Making

I traced the pattern on ground cover fabric. Cut out the ground cover fabric and pinned it to my fabric.

Dress Making

Here is a shot of the darts and the tie. Love how the darts turned out.

Dress Darts

The dreaded pockets.

Dress Pockets

And here is the final unironed dress on the hanger.

dress hung

Here I am wearing it. Happy that I’m done.

Kyrrha Dress

What have you been up to this week?

k

Leave a Reply

