bias tape

I’ve been learning how to make my own bias tape this week. It’s been really hard and I have to admit, I’ve gone back to the store to by premade tape. I’ve been using the bias tape on pockets of a dress. (A blog post to come.) Here are some pics of the bias tape fiasco.

Here was the beginning. I was so excited it came through the bias tape maker rather easily. I then began to iron. Well, I didn’t know that linen isn’t the easiest material to keep a crease and to iron neatly. ;(

Bias Tape

Here I am trying to attach the bias tape to the pocket. It wasn’t staying creased. I began pinning myself. I started to hate sewing.

pocket

Finally, after an hour or so, here are two pockets with bias tape. This took a lot of patience on my part. I was pleased once they were pinned. Little did I know that this wasn’t the hardest part.

2 Pockets

I then tried to sew the pockets on the front of the dress. I tried four times, four different ways. I finally cheated and will show you what happened in a later post. YES, I did go back to Harts Fabrics and buy black bias tape for the neck and arms. I am determined to not go through this fiasco on the top part of the dress.

What have you been up to this week?

k

2 thoughts on “bias tape

  1. Pingback: sewing my first dress | kyrrha sevco

  2. Making your own bias tape is fairly easy..I will write the directions for you and mail them…my quilts were bound with bias tape I made democrats of the quilt sometimes I.didn’t.have enough of one color and actually sewed a number of scraps of left over bias and made it multi-colored ..Always save ur bias.scraps…ok Luv u. I send u direction not hard…..😊

Leave a Reply

