pattern making and beetles

Folks have been asking how I go about creating patterns. It starts first with an inspiration, which I usually find on my walks on the 200 acre orchard I live on in Happy Valley.

Lately I’ve been inspired by spring and all the wild life and flowers, in particular beetles. I first start by sketching. I gather ideas and inspiration from pictures on the web or pictures I have taken. Here is an original sketch of the beetles from my sketchbook.

IMG_7288

Then I sketch them on watercolor paper and watercolor them. Here is an example of two of the finished pieces. I can also use these finished watercolors to make cards and other lovely gifts.

IMG_7309 IMG_7314

I then scan each individual beetle and place them in a repeat pattern in Photoshop. Below is the final repeat pattern that can be placed on any surface curtains, wrapping paper, iPhone cases, calendars, cards, etc.

Repeat-Beetles

Here is an iPhone case that I had made with the pattern.

IMG_0331

If you are interested in having a product created with  my patterns, let me know. Check out my website and see all the patterns that I have available.

What have you been up to this week?

k

One thought on “pattern making and beetles

Leave a Reply

