creating patterns

Several folks have asked how I go about making my patterns. I’ll show you below. It’s quite fun.

First I take a sketch from my sketchbook like this line drawing of a feather.

Image

Then I make an electronic file by scanning it and uploading to PhotoShop. I create what is called a motif like the image below on the left. Then I begin to embellish the motif. Like the image below in the middle. Lastly I create a pattern that will repeat so that it can be printed on fabric in a seamless manner. The image on the right is what is called a brick repeat.

Feather8Colored Feather8Colored Feather Pattern8

Lastly, I duplicate the brick repeat and begin to create a pattern.

Colored Feather Strip Pattern8

Fun, what are you up to this week?

k

Leave a Reply

