pattern design

I shared last week that I’m taking a surface pattern class called The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design with Beth Kempton and Rachel Taylor. Wow, what a fun week of pattern making. I’ve been learning how to use Photoshop and Illustrator, mark making, and creating repeats. I’m seeing patterns everywhere, in everything.

Below are two pictures made with pen and ink. I’ll scan these into Photoshop and have fun with them later by adding color and doing repeats.

Image

Image

The next two patterns I made with this AWEsome new, FREE app on my iPhone called Adobe Ideas. I LOVE it. You can simply draw on the fly with as many layers as you want. You can also use your own photos like I did with the buttons.

ImageImage

And lastly, just because it’s spring and I’ve been loving the flowers.

Image

Leave a Reply

