paperphilia

Let me just start off by confessing that I am a paperfile. I LOVE paper, the feel of it, the smell of it, its abundance in the universe, and that it can be recycled again and again. I LOVE using paper in my art projects. Benja Harney, a self-taught Sydney based Paper Engineer and my personal paper guru, said it the best, “paper is unassuming and humble, we see and use it everyday.”

This blog and project I’ve embarked on this week is an ode to paper. The idea came from Beth Nichols and Rachel Taylor in their new endeavor paper love where they have asked bloggers to expose their love of paper during one of their blog sessions. I thought how FUN; I’m in! Below is my project, the paperphilia blocks, which are for sale at Pippin Lane.

My paperphilia blocks started off with 4 x 4 birch panels.

Artist Panel

Since today is all about PaPeR, I decided to collage. I wanted to use text, so I got out a set of flash cards and thumbed through them looking for interesting words and began to adhere one to each block.

Flash Card

Then I looked through my stash of magazines for some special paper and here is what I came across!

Good Housekeeping

A July 1931 Good Housekeeping journal! Reading through it was fun and the feel of the old paper was delicious in my hand. There are quite a few funny advertisements such as one for Ipana tooth paste that states “A Young Mother has words with herself about a pink tooth brush”.  Another is an ad for ethyl fluid that states, “Sugar is needed in lemonade and Ethyl fluid is needed in gasoline.” The ad compares the healthfulness of sugar in lemonade and the added benefits that Ethyl fluid makes in your car. (WOW!) As expected there were tons of home ec ads such as Kitchen Aid, Cut-Rite waxed paper, maternity frocks, Scott Tissues, National Casket Company, Inc., Dr. Lyon’s tooth powder, and Cocomalt, which claimed to help youngsters gain weight.

I proceeded to thumb through the magazine and look for pages I could use to collage from some of the stories in the magazine. The stories were great and I loved the titles here are a few: The Minister Who Kicked the Cat, by Eleanor Hallowell Abbott, The Murder at Hazelmoor, by Emma-Lindsay Squier and Amateur Cooking for Husbands, by Montague Glass. I knew the instant I saw these stories, that they were going in my project. I proceeded to adhered them onto the blocks with gel medium. The end result is the paraphilia blocks!

Stories

To find out more about paper love, check out the links below.

paperlovebloghop_200

The PaperLove Blog Hop is a celebration of all things paper! Follow the links to discover more bloggers who love paper and use it to inspire and delight. And if you want to explore a whole world of paper, and stretch your paper passion further with a host of creative projects, why not join the innovative new online course PaperLove (starts March 31). Led by book artist Rachel Hazell, PaperLove is a five week creative adventure for paper lovers. Find out more here.

Majo Bautista / Tona Bell Louise Best Cathy Bluteau / Jennifer Bomgardner / Giova Brusa / Lindsay Buck / Beka Buckley / Joanna Caskie / Jonathan Chapman (Mr Yen) / Halle Cisco / Sarah Clare / Cathryn Clarge / Dawn Clarkson / Rhiannon Connelly Jenny D’Fuego / Molly Dhiman / Ian Dudley / Ayisatu Emore / Akmal Farid / Monika Forsberg / Claire Fritz-Domeney / Louise Gale / Chrissy Gaskell / Julie Hamilton / Emma Hawman / Rachel Hazell / Holly Helgeson / Claudine Hellmuth / Kim Henkel / Sarah Hoffman / Joanne Hus / Paula Joerling / Beth Kempton / Julie Kirk / Eos Koch / Katie LaClair / Kristy Lankford / Michelle Manolov / Doreen Marts Rosie Martinez-Dekker / Tori Mears / Maria Mederios / Lise Meijer / Debbie Miller / MaryJane Mitchell / Suzy Naidoo / Grace Noel / Hannah Nunn / Camilla Olsson / Jo Packham / Rachelle Panagarry / Monette Pangan / Melanie Paul Nicole Piar / Jen Pitta / Liz Plummer Julie Reed / Michelle Reynolds / Lisa Rivas Angee Robertson / Natalie Ryan / Aisling Ryan / Elisabet Sapena / Kyrrha Sevco / Jamie Sprague / Elizabeth Steele / Terri Stephens / Juniper Stokes / Mary Tanana / Maike Thoma / Linda Tieu Gabrielle Treanor / Tammy Tutterow / Deborah Velasquez / Jordan Vinograd Kim / Cat Whipple / Brooke Witt / Katie Wood Amelia Woodbridge

9 thoughts on “paperphilia

  1. …what lovely blocks! I can see these as being wonderful bases for further embellishment/collage if you wanted to fuss them up, or leave them just as they are for a more understated collection. Neat!

    Thank you for joining the hop today – it’s been such fun to meet new faces under the umbrella of our mutual paper love 🙂

  2. Beautiful post Kyrrha. I love how you share your process with the blocks!! And thanks for your kind visit to my blog. You asked about where I got my Wall Calendar printed. After a lot of research, I ended up with a Vistaprint version, with the thicker paper quality they offer. Beautiful in color and paper quality. Downside: I had to create my own backside to the Calendar and glue it on every single one of them because they made with Vistaprint logo and code on, quite ugly looking. I asked them, but they could not refuse from that. Will search on for next years Calendar…

    Best from Lise, Denmark.

Leave a Reply

